Chuck Bednarik Award Presented By Cracker Barrel

College Defensive Player of the Year

The College Defensive Player of the Year Award is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, College and Pro Football Hall of Famer.

The winner of the 18th Annual Chuck Bednarik Award, Manti Te'o, Notre Dame's defensive back.
Cracker Barrel

Who Votes?

Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country

Facts About Manti
The 6-2, 255-pound senior from Laie, Hawaii, is the rock on which the powerful Notre Dame defense has been built. A model of consistency, Te’o has started 46 straight games for the Irish and posted 3 consecutive 100 tackle seasons. This year Te’o also has registered 7 interceptions which is tied for the second best in the country. The Notre Dame defense has allowed only 10.33 points per game in 2012.

Read more about Manti Te'o...

Past Winners

Manti Te’o Notre Dame
Tyrann Mathieu Louisiana State University
Patrick Peterson Louisiana State University
Ndamukong Suh University of Nebraska
Rey Maualuga University of Southern California
Dan Connor The Pennsylvania State University
Paul Posluszny The Pennsylvania State University
David Pollack University of Georgia
Teddy Lehman University of Oklahoma
E.J. Henderson University of Maryland
Julius Peppers University of North Carolina
Dan Morgan Miami University
LaVar Arrington Penn State University
Dat Nguyen Texas A&M University