2010 Maxwell and Bednarik Award Semifinalists

Submitted by maxwell on

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2010 Semifinalists for the 74th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 16th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Boise State’s Kellen Moore, Michigan’s Denard Robinson and Oklahoma State’s Justin Blackmon, who lead the nation in passing efficiency, rushing yards and receiving yards respectively, highlight the Maxwell nominations. Blackmon is one of four nominees from the Big 12 conference. On the defensive side of the ball, Boston College’s Luke Kuechly and Clemson’s Da’Quan Bowers, the FBS leaders in tackles and sacks respectively, head the nominees for the Bednarik Award. Linebacker Greg Jones, a semifinalist last year, is one of five Bednarik nominees from the Big Ten.

Last season, the Maxwell Award went to Colt McCoy of the University of Texas while the Bednarik went to conference-mate Ndamukong Suh of the University of Nebraska. McCoy and Suh now suit up for the Cleveland Browns and Detroit Lions.

The winners of the 74th Maxwell Award and the 16th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 9, 2010. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 22, 2010 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, March 4, 2011 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday, November 9th and close on Sunday November 21st. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.

Semifinalists for the 74th Maxwell Award

Blackmon, Justin, Oklahoma State University, WR, Sophomore
Broyles, Ryan, University of Oklahoma, WR, JR
Dalton, Andy, Texas Christian University, QB, SR
Griffin III, Robert, Baylor University, QB, Sophomore
Hunter, Kendall, Oklahoma State University, RB, SR
James, LaMichael, University of Oregon, RB, Sophomore
Kaepernick, Colin, University of Nevada, QB, SR
Luck, Andrew, Stanford University, QB, Sophomore
Mallett, Ryan, University of Arkansas, QB, JR
Martinez, Taylor, University of Nebraska, QB, Freshman
Moore, Kellen, Boise State University, QB, JR
Newton, Cam, Auburn University, QB, JR
Pryor, Terrelle, Ohio State University, QB, JR
Robinson, Denard, University of Michigan, QB, Sophomore
Stanzi, Ricky, University of Iowa, QB, SR
Taylor, Tyrod, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, QB, SR

Semifinalists for the 16th Chuck Bednarik Award

Acho, Sam, University of Texas, DE, SR
Amukamara, Prince, University of Nebraska, DB, SR
Bowers, Da’Quan Clemson University, DE, JR
Chekwa, Chimdi, Ohio State University, DB, JR
Clayborn, Adrian, University of Iowa, DE, SR
Fairley, Nick, Auburn University, DL, JR
Houston, Justin, University of Georgia, DL, JR
Jenkins, Brandon, Florida State University, DL, JR
Jones, Greg, Michigan State University, LB, SR
Kerrigan, Ryan, Purdue University, DL, SR,
Kuechly, Luke, Boston College, LB, Sophomore
Nevis, Drake, Louisiana State University, DL, JR
Paea, Stephen, Oregon State University, DT, SR
Peterson, Patrick, Louisiana State University, DB, JR
Te’o, Manti, University of Notre Dame, LB, Sophomore
Watt, J.J, University of Wisconsin, DL, JR

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, www.ncfaa.org.