2011 Maxwell and Bednarik Award Semifinalists

Submitted by maxwell on

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2011 Semifinalists for the 75th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Wisconsin's Russell Wilson, Houston's Case Keenum and Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles, who lead the nation in passing efficiency, total offense and receiving yards respectively, highlight the Maxwell nominations. Blackmon is one of five nominees from the Big 12 conference. On the defensive side of the ball, Boston College's Luke Kuechly and Illinois defensive lineman Whitney Mercilus, the FBS leaders in tackles and sacks respectively, head the nominees for the Bednarik Award. Alabama defensive back Mark Barron is one of six Bednarik nominees from the Southeastern Conference.

Last season, the Maxwell Award went to Cam Newton from Auburn University while the Bednarik went to conference-mate Patrick Peterson of LSU. Newton and Peterson now suit up for the Carolina Panthers and Arizona Cardinals respectively.

The winners of the 75th Maxwell Award and the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN College Football Awards Show Powered by the Home Depot on December 8, 2011. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 21, 2011 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, March 2, 2012 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday, November 1st and close on Sunday November 20th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.

2011 Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Player Class Pos College
Matt Barkley Jr QB University of Southern California
Justin Blackmon Jr WR Oklahoma State Universit
Tajh Boyd So QB Clemson University
Ryan Broyles Sr WR University of Oklahoma
Robert Griffin, III Jr QB Baylor University
LaMichael James Jr RB University of Oregon
Landry Jones Jr QB University of Oklahoma
Case Keenum Sr QB University of Houston
Andrew Luck Sr QB Stanford University
Kellen Moore Sr QB Boise State University
Chris Polk Jr RB University of Washington
Trent Richardson Jr RB University of Alabama
Brandon Weeden Sr QB Oklahoma State University
Russell Wilson Sr QB University of Wisconsin
David Wilson Jr RB Virginia Tech University
Robert Woods So WR University of Southern California

2011 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists

Player Class Pos College
Mark Barron Sr DB University of Alabama
Arthur Brown Jr LB Kansas State University
Vontaze Burfict Jr LB Arizona State University
Morris Claiborne Jr DB Lousiana State University
Lavonte David Sr LB University of Nebraska
Dont'a Hightower Jr LB University of Alabama
Melvin Ingram Sr DL University of South Carolina
Luke Kuechly Jr LB Boston College
Tyrann Mathieu So DB Lousiana State University
Whitney Mercilus Jr DL Unviersity of Illinois
Sean Spence Sr LB University of Miami
Devon Still Sr DL Penn State University
Manti Te'o Jr LB University of Notre Dame
Chase Thomas Sr LB Stanford University
Courtney Upshaw Sr LB University of Alabama
Jerel Worthy Jr DL Michigan State University

All questions concerning the awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club can be directed to:

Mr. Mark Wolpert (MFC Executive Director) at mwolpert@maxwellfootballclub.org,
or to Mr. Richard Cirminiello (Director of Collegiate Awards) at rcirminiello@maxwellfootballclub.org.

The presentation of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 8, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show's dedicated Web site at www.espncollegefootballawards.com to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

The Maxwell Club and its awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org.