2012 Maxwell And Bednarik Award Winners

Submitted by maxwell on

Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced today that Andrew Luck of Stanford University as the winner of the 75th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, and that Tyrann Mathieu of LSU is the winner of the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Defensive Player of the Year.

The winners of the 75th Maxwell Award and the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award were announced tonight as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show and the formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's 75th Anniversary Awards Gala on Friday, March 2, 2012 at the Harrah's Resort Complex in Atlantic City, NJ. Event tickets are available on the Maxwell Football Club's website www.maxwellfootballclub.org.

Luck a native of Houston Texas passed for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns for a 167.5 passer rating in leading fourth ranked Stanford to an 11-1 record. He quarterbacked the Cardinal to back-to-back seasons of at least 11 wins for the first time ever, and now ranks first on Stanford's all-time career list for touchdown passes (80), total offense (10,043 yards), and completion percentage (.664).

Luck joins College Football Hall of Fame member Jim Plunkett as the second Maxwell Award winner from Stanford. He has also been named to the All-PAC-12 1st team as a quarterback and was recognized as the conference Offensive Player of the Year and was selected as a member of the AFCA All American team.

Mathieu leads the Tigers in tackles (70), forced fumbles (six) and fumble recoveries (five). Just 25 games into his career, Mathieu has already shattered the LSU record and tied the Southeastern Conference record with 12 forced fumbles. His six forced fumbles this season matched his own single-season record set last year. In 25 career games, Mathieu has at least a forced fumble/recovery or an interception in 11 of those contests. In 15 games against Top 25 teams, Mathieu has produced a forced fumble/recovery or an interception in nine of those contests. In addition, he's recorded 6.5 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, two interceptions and seven pass breakups this season.

Mathieu was selected to the SEC 1st team All-Conference team as a cornerback. He joins former teammate Patrick Peterson as back to back winners of the Chuck Bednarik Award from LSU. Peterson is now a member of the Arizona Cardinals.

Eligible voters for the Maxwell and Bednarik awards include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors, and selected national media.