Maxwell Club Expands Watch Lists

Submitted by maxwell on

The Maxwell Football Club today announced the expansion of its 2011 Watch Lists for both the 75th Maxwell Award and the 17th Chuck Bednarik Award.

The original lists were comprised of 65 players, who were selected based on their performances during the 2010 season. As the 2011 season has progressed, the Club believes that several additional players warrant attention because of their noteworthy play.

Nine new names have been added to the Maxwell Watch List; an additional 11 have been added to the Bednarik List.

The Maxwell Award additions include:

Giovani Bernard
- North Carolina, RB, Freshman
Tajh Boyd- Clemson, QB, Sophomore
Isaiah Crowell- Georgia, RB, Freshman
Seth Doege- Texas Tech, QB, Junior
Lamar Miller- Miami (Fla), RB, Sophomore
Brock Osweiler- Arizona State, QB, Junior
Bernard Pierce- Temple, RB, Junior
Keith Price- Washington, QB, Sophomore
Tevin Washington- Georgia Tech, QB, Junior

The Bednarik Award additions include:

Frank Alexander
- Oklahoma, DE, Senior
Antonio Allen- South Carolina, Spur, Senior
Andre Branch- Clemson, DE, Senior
Sammy Brown- Houston, LB, Senior
Jadeveon Clowney- South Carolina, DE, Freshman
Melvin Ingram- South Carolina, DE, Senior
Ronnell Lewis – Oklahoma, DE, Junior
Whitney Mercilus- Illinois, DL, Junior
Bacarri Rambo- Georgia, Safety, Junior
Devon Still- Penn State, DT, Senior
Chase Thomas- Stanford, LB, Senior

Sixty-seven FBS schools, representing 11 conferences and two independents, are now represented on the Watch Lists. The expansion encompasses players from four universities previously not on either watch list.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 69’ and the NFL Hall of Fame 67’.

Cam Newton of Auburn was the recipient of the 74th Maxwell Award and Patrick Peterson from LSU was awarded the 16th Chuck Bednarik Award for their outstanding performances during the 2010 season. Newton is the starting quarterback for the Carolina Panthers while Patrick Peterson suits up for the Arizona Cardinals.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on October 31st and three finalists for each award will be announced November 21st. The winners of the 2011 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 8th. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 2, 2012.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club’s Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2011 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Any questions or requests for additional information can be directed to Maxwell Club Executive Director Mark Wolpert ( or to Maxwell Club Director of College Awards Richard Cirminiello (