The Maxwell Football Club Announces The Winners of the 76th Maxwell Award And The 18th Chuck Bednarik Award

Submitted by maxwell on

<h3>The Maxwell Football Club Announces the Winners of the 76th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award, presented by Cracker Barrel, for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year</h3>

Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced today that Manti Te'o of Notre Dame as the winner of both the 76th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, and also the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Collegiate Defensive Player of the Year presented by Cracker Barrel Old Country Stores. This historic double is the first time in the Club's 76 year history that a player has won both awards.

The announcement came tonight as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show, and the formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's 76th Anniversary Awards Gala on Friday, March 1, 2013 at the Harrah's Resort Complex in Atlantic City, NJ. Event tickets are available on the Maxwell Football Club's website

The 6-2, 255-pound senior from Laie, Hawaii, is the rock on which the powerful Notre Dame defense has been built. A model of consistency, Te'o has started 46 straight games for the Irish and posted 3 consecutive 100 tackle seasons. This year Te'o also has registered 7 interceptions which is tied for the second best in the country. The Notre Dame defense has allowed only 10.33 points per game in 2012.
Te'o is the 7th Irish player to win the Maxwell Award joining Notre Dame greats Leon Hart ('49), John Lattner ('52 and '53), Jim Lynch ('66), Ross Browner ('77) and Brady Quinn ('06). He is the first Notre Dame player to win the Chuck Bednarik Award in its 18 year history.

Te'o is the first defensive player to win the Maxwell Award in the last 32 years. The last defender to win the trophy was Hugh Green of Pittsburgh in 1980. Ross Browner a standout player for the Irish also won the Maxwell in 1977 but did not win the Bednarik as the award was not yet in existence.

Eligible voters for the Maxwell and Bednarik awards include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors, and selected national media.

The Maxwell Award is the second oldest award in college football and is named in honor of Robert "Tiny" Maxwell a legendary player, official and sports writer. Maxwell passed away in 1922 and the Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 to honor his memory and promote football at all levels.

The Chuck Bednarik Award is named in honor of college and NFL Hall of Fame player "Concrete Charlie" Bednarik. A standout two way at the University of Pennsylvania Bednarik was one of the most feared players on the field. Bednarik won the 1948 Maxwell Award as the Collegiate Player of the Year and in 1949 was drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles. He was a 10 time All-Pro selection and was a member of 2 NFL Championship teams. He was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in 1967.

In 2012 the Cracker Barrel Old Country Stores became the presenting sponsor of the Chuck Bednarik Award.

All questions concerning the winners or the awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club can be directed to Mark Wolpert, Maxwell Football Club Executive Director, at, or to Richard Cirminiello, Director of Collegiate Awards at

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

The Home Depot College Football Awards will feature the live presentation of nine player awards; the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contribution to College Football Award; Disney Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award; AllState Good Hands Award; and student athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show's dedicated Web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.